Scholarship opportunities

Students in the Department of Communication and Mass Media at Northwest Missouri State University are encouraged to apply for a number of scholarships. While most scholarships within the department are geared towards a specific degree, students should be able to find a scholarship opportunity that matches their pursuit. The following are listed as major specific scholarships.

Communication Scholarships

Academic Achievement Award
Awarded to students who have declared a major in theatre or speech/theatre education and have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.00. The application may be downloaded online.
Award: Award amount determined by the following table:
3.75 – 4.00 overall GPA = $200 per semester
3.50 – 3.74 overall GPA = $150 per semester
3.25 – 3.49 overall GPA = $100 per semester
3.00 – 3.24 overall GPA = $50 per semester

Robert Bohlken Scholarship
Awarded to speech/theatre education or speech communication majors that have at least a sophomore status with a minimum 3.00 GPA are eligible. Consideration will be given for academic achievement, participation in forensic/theatre activities and departmental service. Must show financial need. The application may be downloaded online.
Award: $200

Donald K. Carlile Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to a junior speech communication, public relations or mass communication major with a minimum 3.00 GPA for use during their junior or senior year. It is judged on academic performance, participation in journalism activities, financial need, character and service to the university, especially through involvement in the Circle K organization. The application may be downloaded online.
Award: $250

George Hinshaw Scholarship
Consideration is based on financial need, academic achievement, participation in intercollegiate forensic activities and in department campus activities and organizations. Must be at least a sophomore majoring in speech communication with a minimum GPA of 3.00. The application may be downloaded online.
Award: $400

Joyce Fink Hook Scholarship
Two scholarships awarded: one to a theatre major and one to a speech/theatre education major. Must have at least a 3.00 GPA and be an active participant in departmental productions and have the potential to make a significant contribution to the field in order to apply. The application may be downloaded online.
Award: Two given; $625

Forensics Scholarship
Offered to students on the Northwest Forensics Team. This includes events in oral interpretation, limited preparation and public address. Awarded through audition with the director of forensics.

Public Relations Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to a public relations major on an annual basis. This scholarship requires that the applicant has completed a minimum or 45 academic hours with a GPA of 3.0 or better. Consideration is given for involvement in PRSSA and/or Lambda Pi Eta. Must show financial need.
Award: $250


Mass Media Scholarships

Cathran Cushman Radio Scholarship
Given to student who has contributed significantly to KZLX/KXCV/KRNW. Exhibits broadcast skills and shows academic accomplishment with minimum GPA of 2.50. Contact Patty Holley, KXCV Radio, 660-562-1163.
Award: $450
Deadline: March 1

Jaclyn Dierking Memorial Scholarship
This advertising scholarship is in memory of Jaclyn Dierking, former Northwest Missourian advertising director. The Jaclyn Dierking Memorial Scholarship is awarded to the newspaper advertising representative who has been the most productive in ad sales during the previous academic year.

T.H. Eckert English/Journalism Scholarship
The T.H. Eckert Journalism Scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior journalism major with a minimum 3.0 GPA, based on leadership and contribution to the Northwest Missourian.

Eckert Collegiate Journalism Scholarship
The Eckert Collegiate Journalism Scholarship is awarded to a junior or senior journalism major with a minimum 3.0 GPA. This award is based on need, academic accomplishments and journalistic service.

Christine Galitz Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship is given in memory of Chris Galitz and her contributions to student publications. The award is given to a senior with a minimum 3.0 GPA who has served on more than one editorial board, is a journalism major and shows financial need. Applicants must submit an essay titled, “Why I Appreciate my Journalism Degree from Northwest.”

Johnny Mac News Excellence Award
Awarded in honor of Dr. John McGuire, who worked as KXCV/KRNW News Director from 1987 to 1999. The award is presented to the exceptional feature producer for KXCV/KRNW. Contact Patty Holley, KXCV Radio 660-562-1163

Dustin McCurdy Memorial Scholarship
This scholarship has been set up in memory of former student Dustin McCurdy, who passed away while a student at Northwest. Preference will be given to a student working at the KZLX radio station, with KXCV radio station given second preference. The recipient shall demonstrate financial need.

Kevin O’Reilly News Scholarship
This scholarship is funded by Kevin O’Reilly, who distinguished himself as a news/feature producer while working with KXCV during his years as a student at Northwest. The award will be made to a student who displays both talent and interest in interviewing, in writing, and in the final production of at least on two-minute news feature per week for each week of the trimester. Contact Patty Holley, KXCV Radio 660-562-1163

Pete Schartel Scholarship
Funded by and named for alumni Pete Schartel. This award is given to a student who will serve as lead engineer of the Bearcat Radio network broadcasts. The student has displayed strong leadership, communication and organization skills. Contact Patty Holley, KXCV Radio 660-562-1163
Award: $600

Rollie Stadlman and Sharon Bonnett Scholarship
This award applauds the exemplary KXCV/KRNW broadcaster who exhibits leadership, high academic standards in the classroom and professional applications on the air and displays innovative approaches to broadcasting and real passion for the industy. The recipient is chosen from among KXCV/KRNW announcers and news reporters by the KXCV/KRNW professional staff. Contact Patty Holley, KXCV Radio 660-562-1163

John Yancey/Edward Jones Sideline Reporter
This award goes to the student who serves as a sideline reporter for all of the Bearcat Radio Network football broadcasts. The recipient’s responsibilities also include producing pre- and post- game interviews and player profile interviews for the Bearcat Radio Network. Contact Patty Holley, KXCV Radio 660-562-1163
Award: $500

The B.J. Alcott ScholarshipThis scholarship is awarded to a journalism major who holds an overall GPA of 2.5, and a journalism GPA of at least 3.0

Fred Lamer Excellence in Broadcasting Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to a sophomore, junior or senior broadcasting or journalism major or minor with at least one semester remaining at Northwest. The person must maintain active involvement in KNWT-TV. Preference will be given to the individual demonstrating merit, leadership and involvement in KNWT-TV.

For more information, please contact Marla McCrary at To view all scholarship opportunities, please visit The Office of Financial Assistance.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s